Our History
The Owners
Art & Adriana Strahan
About the Owners
Art and Adriana Strahan’s story began many years ago in Brazil, where Art ministered at a Baptist convention and Adriana served as his interpreter in 1998. After parting ways for many years, life took them on separate paths until 2011 when they serendipitously reconnected.
Their journey is a testament to love’s enduring power and the beauty of serendipity. Inspired by their passion for wine and their unwavering commitment to each other, Art and Adriana have dedicated themselves to serving exceptional wines that reflect their unique journey and shared dreams. The couple have 4 beautiful daughters and a growing tribe of grands.
About our Values
Heritage: Honor our history and build a legacy for our future.
Hospitality: Endeavor to provide the highest quality experience possible.
Home: Cultivate a family-friendly atmosphere while remembering the importance of stewardship.
The Walkers Mill Home
Classic Elegance
Perfect Destination
Idyllically Situated on a 95-acre tract of the Lane Ranch in Northwestern Harrison County.
Features a Louisiana plantation-style main house with a large wrap-around porch.
A place for peace and making memories, beyond just a visitor attraction.
The Timeline of Success
Established 2011
2011
Lane Ranch
2015
First Vines
2016
The Mill Barn
2020
First Wines
2024
Tasting & Dining Room
2026
The Inn @ Walkers Mill
WALKERS MILL COMMUNITY
About the HISTORY
On March 16th, 1925, a group of in-laws, relatives, friends and acquaintances all began their journey starting the Walkers’ Mill Community.
Two hundred and four acres filled with creeks, pine, and wild muscadines allowed its occupants to soon call this place home, build their lives and make many memories. Walkers’ Mill was home to a number of mills through its history which served as a prominent fixture of the community, providing many jobs and a booming business for its time.
The land remained undivided for 50 years. All the families at the Mill developed a strong sense of community spirit.
Barney Bunt, the author of the book “A Place Called Walkers Mill“, recalled that father Wilton Bunt with sons Raymond, Felton, and Barnie operated a sawmill at the intersection of Highway 449 and Airlite Road, some three miles east of Walkers Mill, from 1934 to 1936, before relocating the next year to Walkers Mill. These smaller mills, at times called “peckerwood” and “doodlebug” and “whippoorwill mills” could cut 10,000 feet daily. In 1937, they moved the Mill to Walkers Mill where it operated until 1949.
The original sawmill was in operation until the great depression, when the Mill shut down due to equipment failure and a plummeting economy. Not long after, a cotton gin was purchased and assembled nearby to provide jobs for the men during the summer and fall.
The small mills in the community survived until after the war when the great depression ended, and they proved to be in too much competition with mills attached to surrounding towns. This led to many people moving away and causing the community to thin.
Today, where the sawmill used to be, you can find small mounds of saw dust in pastures and a few houses from the early days of Walkers Mill.
The community is now home to many modern-day families and it has been an inspiration for the owners of the new muscadine vineyard and upcoming winery, who appropriately named their business after this historical background.
The Mill Barn has had the privilege of hosting the wedding of one of The Walker’s Family’s descendants in 2017 and one of The Bunt’s Family’s descendants in 2019





IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS FILL OUT THIS FORM.
Walkers Mill Vineyard & Winery
13983 FM 449, Hallsville, TX 75650
Walkers Mill Vineyard & winery
Since 2015
© 2026 Walkers Mill, All Rights Reserved.